Main » 2008 » July » 28 » NCSBN Award Ceremony to Honor Outstanding Nurse Regulators
NCSBN Award Ceremony to Honor Outstanding Nurse Regulators
6:45 AM
The National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN) will recognize its dedicated and exceptional membership and guests at its annual awards ceremony during the NCSBN Delegate Assembly to be held in Nashville, Tennessee, Aug. 5 – 8, 2008.

Specific award recipients include:

Shirley Brekken, MS, RN, executive director, Minnesota Board of Nursing, will be honored with the prestigious R. Louise McManus Award. Individuals receiving this award have made sustained and lasting significant contributions through their deep commitment and dedication to the purposes and mission of NCSBN.

Sandra Evans, MAEd, RN, executive director, Idaho Board of Nursing, will receive the Meritorious Service Award, which is granted to a board or staff member of a member board for positive impact and significant contributions to the purposes of NCSBN. 
Lisa Emrich, MSN, RN, board staff, Ohio Board of Nursing, Barbara Newman, MS, RN, board staff, Maryland Board of Nursing, and Calvina Thomas, PhD, RN, board staff, Arkansas State Board of Nursing, will each receive the Exceptional Contribution Award, which is awarded for significant contribution by a board of nursing staff member who does not serve as an executive officer or a board member who is not the current board president.

The Kentucky Board of Nursing will be awarded the Regulatory Achievement Award that recognizes the member board that has made an identifiable, significant contribution to the purpose of NCSBN in promoting public policy related to the safe and effective practice of nursing in the interest of public welfare.

In honor of NCSBN’s 30th Anniversary a special 30th Anniversary Award will be given to Joey Ridenour, MN, RN, executive director, Arizona State Board of Nursing, Mildred S. Schmidt, EdD, RN, former executive secretary, New York State Board of Nursing, and Sharon Weisenbeck Malin, MS, RN, former executive director, Kentucky Board of Nursing.  This special award honors individuals responsible for historic innovation and profound, lasting achievements that have significantly contributed to nursing regulation and NCSBN.

There will also be a special award given to Thomas Abram, JD, NCSBN legal counsel.

In addition, service awards will be given to the following executive officers of boards of nursing:

Ten Years
Myra Broadway, JD, MS, RN, executive director, Maine State Board of Nursing
Connie Kalanek, PhD, RN, executive director, North Dakota Board of Nursing
Paula Meyer, MSN, RN, executive director, Washington State Nursing Care Quality Assurance Commission

Fifteen Years 
Ruth Ann Terry, MPH, RN, executive officer, California Board of Registered Nursing
Laura Poe, MS, RN, executive administrator, Utah State Board of Nursing

Twenty Years
Lorinda Inman, MSN, RN, executive director, Iowa Board of Nursing
Barbara Morvant, MN, RN, executive director, Louisiana State Board of Nursing
Charlene Kelly, PhD, RN, executive director, Nebraska Board of Nursing

The National Council of State Boards of Nursing, Inc. (NCSBN) is a not-for-profit organization whose membership comprises the boards of nursing in the 50 states, the District of Columbia and four U.S. territories.

Mission: The National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN), composed of Member Boards, provides leadership to advance regulatory excellence for public protection.

Views: 3499 | Added by: nclex | Rating: 5.0/1 |
Total comments: 0
Only registered users can add comments.
[ Registration | Login ]